Spreadable Media Artefact 1

One of the requisite of my Social Media Technologies module is to create media content that can be spread through social media platforms. The media content could be anything ranging from an image to a video to a photo. The content should be decent enough to get views/hits on the social media platforms. I could team up with another student who has their idea that can easily work together with mine. There is a risk that this content may not get so many likes and hits from viewers. My idea is; To create a super-cut video of the ‘Wilhelm Scream’ cliché.

“One sound effect that has found a following with many sound editors and observant movie
fans is a distinctive scream named Wilhelm.” (Lee Steve 2005 on Hollywood Lost and
Found.
Steve Lee (2005) through Hollywood Lost and Found, said that in 1951, the Warner Bros produced a film ‘Distant drums’ which was directed by Raoul Walsh the scream was recorded for one of the scenes in the film then Ben Burtt used the scream in the Star wars and named it Wilhelm after the character that let out the scream-Wilhelm. Today there is a Wilhelm Scream Store with T-shirts, tote bags, mugs and other memorabilia on sale featuring the official Logo of the sound effect.

The Wilhelm Scream Logo

Creating a super-cut video of the Wilhelm Scream may be quite challenging considering that some compilation videos have been produced already. It means that I have to try to match the others and/or even produce a different ‘feel’ altogether. This project will actually involve a lot of work,

  • At least I have already picked a topic
  • I have to locate sources of material, now I have found a list of quite a number of films that have used this scream in one or more scenes. This is well and good but I will need original footage of the films.
  • I have to download the video or rip a DVD. I have to work on legalities here, some of the footage or films maybe copyrighted and I need to research more on how to solve this issue.
  • The next stage will be to choose a video editor software, cut the clips line them up and finalise on the order of appearance. I think here that is the stage were I have to use my creativity. Which films from the list can I use for this? Am I going to use text on the screen for every clip? Am I going to cleverly choose a sound track for the video, bearing in mind that I do not compromise the original sound on the clips. Am I going to use narration at the beginning of the video? Do I use a screen with rolling titles of the films where the clips have been taken. These are just thoughts I have been pondering on, what the end product should look like will depend on my creativity.

Compilation video of this Cliché with that has the most number of view

For now this is my only idea and I have to keep thinking of some more.

Bibliography

Lee, Steve. “Sound Effects – The Wilhelm Scream.” Sound Effects – The Wilhelm Scream. N.p., 17 May 2005. Web. 20 Nov. 2012. <http://www.hollywoodlostandfound.net/wilhelm/&gt;.

Baio, Andy. “Making Supercut.org.” Waxy.org: Andy Baio Lives Here. N.p., 16 May 2011. Web. 20 Nov. 2012. <http://waxy.org/2011/05/making_supercutorg/&gt;.

3 thoughts on “Spreadable Media Artefact 1

  1. Terence

    This should be interesting.One would not have realised the repeated use of the scream in so many movies over the years including animated ones as well.Good luck with the project

    Reply
    1. antmin

      Hi Zororo
      Thanks for sharing the Wilhelm Scream supercut with us, in my case you learn something new every day. Watching your Wilhelm Scream supercut, I never realise how many films have used the Wilhelm scream.
      It wasn’t until last year that I started to get into sound design for post-production, Foley and ADR, and since then it has personally changed the way I watch films from now on, including now, listening for the Wilhelm scream. Cheers

      Reply
  2. Pingback: The Wilhelm Scream REMIX | Zororo Mubaya

Leave a comment